A Research

Committee of

     top page

Research Committee
on Sociology of Law







Working Groups





How to join RCSL



Site Map

About this Site





       Adam Podgòrecki Prize >>> 2019



The ISA RCSL Jury Committee for the Podgòrecki Prize calls for nominations for the Senior Prize, which will be awarded in 2019 to a socio-legal scholar for her/his outstanding lifetime contribution to socio-legal scholarship and research. Previous winners of this prize have been: 2017: Lawrence Friedman (USA), 2015: André-Jean Arnaud (France), 2013: Volkmar Gessner (Germany) and Terence Halliday (USA), 2011: David Nelken (Italy), 2009: Boaventura de Sousa Santos (Portugal), 2007: Richard Abel (USA) and Vincenzo Ferrari (Italy), 2005: Erhard Blankenburg (The Netherlands). The 2019 Committee notes that all the previous winners of this award have been men. Although our decision will be based strictly on the merits of the candidates, and the case presented in nominating them, we would particularly welcome the opportunity to consider nominations on behalf of some of the outstanding women scholars in our field.

Nominations require the support of at least two members of the RCSL, and should include the candidate’s CV and a detailed letter of support (at least one page / 3000 characters) signed by the nominators. Members of the Prize Jury are not allowed to sign as nominators. It is desirable, but not essential, that nominees are members of RCSL. Previous nominees may be re-nominated in this 2019 round, with updated letters of support and CVs. The Jury does not have access to previous correspondence or reviews.

Publications can be in any language. For works in languages other than those familiar to the Prize Committee, the nominations should give some indication of the value of the work and provide selected translations. To consider works in less well-known languages, the Jury Committee can co-opt and consult other RCSL members.

Nominations should be sent to the Chair of the Jury,
Prof. David Nelken (david.nelken(at)kcl.ac.uk)
to be received by midnight GMT on 30 April 2019.

The prize will be awarded at the RCSL 2019 Annual Conference, June 19-21, to be held at the IISL in Oñati, at the occasion of the 30th anniversary of IISL.

The 2019 Prize Jury is composed of Prof. David Nelken (UK / Italy), Prof. Pierre Guibentif  (Portugal), and Prof. Susanne Karstedt (Australia).

David Nelken, 15 January 2019


(Source: RCSL Newsletter 2019 No. 1, p. 19)



Website of the RCSL - ISA


This page last updated 21 January 2019

Webmaster pierre.guibentif@iscte-iul.pt

Top Page   |   Home   |   Site Map

Site hosted by