A Research

Committee of

     top page

Research Committee
on Sociology of Law







Working Groups



Adam Podg˛recki



How to join RCSL



Site Map

About this Site




       Adam Podg˛recki Prize


2019 / 2018 / 2017 / 2016 / 2015 / 2014 / 2013 /
2012 /
2011 / 2010 / 2009 / 2008 / 2007 / 2006 / 2005


The ISA Research Committee on the Sociology of Law established the Podg˛recki Prize in 2004, to honour the memory of Adam Podg˛recki, the founding father of RCSL and a leading figure within the international sociological community.

A jury of RCSL, chosen by the RCSL President, awards the prize annually for outstanding achievements in socio-legal research, in alternate years for either distinguished and outstanding lifetime achievements, or outstanding scholarship of a socio-legal researcher at an earlier stage of his or her career.

The prize for lifetime achievements will be awarded as an honorary prize, symbolised by a commemorative certificate, to honour outstanding and exemplary colleagues who have produced guiding and inspiring work. The prize for emerging socio-legal scholars will be a commemorative certificate and a money prize, to honour and encourage colleagues that have yet to leave a mark on the international level of production of socio-legal research but who have published one or more significant works within no later than 10 year of his or her doctorate.

See also the Podg˛recki Prize rules

Up to now, the prize was awarded to:

2018: Ayako Hirata

2017: Laurence Friedman

2016: Leonidas Cheliotis

2015: AndrÚ-Jean Arnaud

2014: Iker Barbero

2013: Volkmar Gessner and Terence Halliday

2012: Fatima Kastner and Stefan Larsson

2011: David Nelken (Italy)

2010: Flora di Donato (Italy)

2009: Boaventura de Sousa Santos (Portugal)

2008: Liora IsraŰl (France)

2007: Richard Abel (USA) and Vincenzo Ferrari (Italy)

2006: Hasegawa Kiyoshi (Japan)

2005: Erhard Blankenburg (The Netherlands)

For more details, see the Podg˛recki Prize Rules and the currently issued call.


Website of the RCSL - ISA


This page last updated 21 January 2019

Webmaster pierre.guibentif@iscte-iul.pt

Top Page   |   Home   |   Site Map

Site hosted by